Boho love

Bohemian  (bəʊˈhiːmɪən)   — n 1. a native or inhabitant of Bohemia, esp of the old kingdom of Bohemia; a Czech 2. ( often not capital ) a person, esp an artist or writer, who lives an unconventional life 3. the Czech language ~World English Dictionary

A few months back, I shared my huge regard for the blog From Moon to Moon. I took my time there, much like I would an old photo album. I was interested where the images came from and the stories they told. Just recently, I came across a tumblr site called That Bohemian Girl which radiates Bohemia as well. I can look at it for hours.

Makes me wonder: What is it about the bohemian style that is attractive? Why is boho chic so popular?

Is it the:

  • playfulness of color?
  • challenge of aesthetic rules?
  • bold confidence?

Perhaps there’s a personal connection for me too. I admire creativity, am inspired by uniqueness, and can understand global influence. As a traveler and wanderer, maybe there’s a little bit of gypsy in me. In any case, this style draws me in.

Can you see why?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

{images from That Bohemian Girl}

3 thoughts on “Boho love

  1. I can totally understand the attraction to the bohemian interior style. Colours, passion, the expression, the boldness (as you said). I like looking at this style, it does inspire me. But you wouldn’t find a significant amount of it in my own home. I need things to be more mellow and streamlined in my personal environment 🙂

    Nice post. How do you get the slideshow in there?

    Xx.

Leave a Reply

